Goals for 2015

Here it is. Another new year. Another list of hopefully fulfilled promises that I am going to make to myself. But first, an analysis of how last year went.

Last year, I made a lot of very vague resolutions and as a result, I think some of them suffered. There was real meaningful way to track my progress on many of them. Just a box to say that I did them. So this year, I want to improve on that by setting actual thoughtful and measurable goals.

Reading: I’m 3 years into my quest to be as well-read as people seem to think I am and I think I want to continue that trend. Last year, I stated that I wanted to read 12 books over the course of the year. I eventually changed that to 13 books on my Goodreads challenge page. All in all, I ended up reading 19 books. The last one was a Children’s Story called The Snow Queen, on which the movie Frozen was based.

Given that I got a late start on all these books and the vast majority of this reading and learning happened in the second half of last year, I want to up the ante. I’ve set my goal at 15 books for the year. I’m keeping it this low because I will hopefully start residency this year and I don’t want to set an unachievable goal while I’m in what will be the hardest year of my life to that point. I’ve already started off the year by beginning The Godfather by Mario Puzo. Hopefully, this will be a good year in that regard.

Also, figure out how to get my Goodreads reviews to autopost to this blog.

Photography: I have continued to maintain my interest in photography. To that end, I took an online photography course, in which I made 94% average. I took a few photo sets this year, and published many of them to my Facebook profile but so far, I haven’t posted any of them anywhere else.

This year, I will put together portfolios on a website like Behance, read the photography book that one of cousins got me for Christmas, and make 5 large prints of my best work from this year.

Music and Poetry: This past year, I rediscovered my love of hip-hop music. I’ve done some writing in both poetry and lyrics but not a whole lot. I think artistically, I want to head in the direction of recording. I hope I will put out a 5 song EP. I have dreaming of this project for a long time and I think it’s time do it. Hopefully, I will have it all done by the time medical school is over.

Finances: I was a lot better about my finances this past year. I used to have a serious problem with overdrafting my accounts. Luckily, that only happened once this past year. My goals for the year in this regard are going to be two-fold: 1) double the amount that I put away in savings, and 2) Make sure that I do not overdraft my account at all.

Origami: I really would like to improve this particular skill. last year, I made a few new models but I only mastered 2 of them. This year, I will endeavour to master 10 new models. I imagine that this will be doable if I spend a few afternoons a month working on one model or another.

Health and Fitness: This is the area where I made the least progress last year. So this year, it’s going to one that I focus on a little more intently.  Recently, I learned that dance is very central to my being, so part of my plan for general fitness is going to be improving my skill level as a dancer. To that end, I will plan to be at 6 dance events this year and at least one of the six must be a weekend long affair like an exchange or a showdown.

In the other aspects of my life, I will endeavor to drink at least 2 glasses of water every morning (because I don’t drink enough water) and lose 30 pounds by year’s end. A few years back, I did in fact lose 30 pounds in less than 3 months but I found that I couldn’t sustain such a drastic weight loss. My weight is currently in the 200’s. I think this goal is a little bit more achievable. To that end, will endeavor to run 2 miles twice a week and do 50 squats three times a week.

Let me know what you guys think of these goals. Hopefully, they are not unrealistic. I guess time will tell.

Leave a Reply

