redefining lindy hop as my hobby

The Lindy Affair

I’ve moved to a small town. In fact, the estimated population of my current zip code is 101 people. Well, make that 102, now that I’ve gotten a driver’s license and PO Box. Regardless, when I talk to dancers about how small this town is, they all give me this appalled, “I’d never be able to survive that” look.

There’s something about having lived in a big city with ample swing dance opportunities which has instilled a sense of apprehension at the thought of moving to a rural area, for a job, family, or other reasons I can’t really think of which would make anyone move to a small town. We’ve all seen it happen – that one person who moves to a small town, and no one hears or sees from them in the dance community again. Are they sad? Lonely? Broken without the dance we love? Probably not…

View original post 645 more words

Leave a Reply

