Dare to Disagree

A friend of mine recently told me that I had a weird way of looking at the world. I didn’t know how to take it at first, but now I think I appreciate it and have in many way come to revel in it. I don’t know if it’s necessarily a good thing that I am this way, but I know that I absolutely enjoy it.

I think in many ways, we get to a point our lives where the world just has to be a certain way because we say it is, or because that’s way we’ve always known. We as humans have a pathological fear of being wrong, or disagreeing or having a difference of opinion. In many ways, that’s a good thing because it helps create a cohesive society, but in a lot of ways it forces us to miss out on something greater.

I’ve gotten to this “weird” perspective by not being afraid to be wrong, especially when stakes are low. I love having friends that agree with me on most things, but I would much rather have friends who disagree with me. I’ve come to realize that it is only those moments when we learn to see the other person’s point of view, that we actually get a glimpse into who we really are.

Leave a Reply

